Fresh Corn Cakes with Parmesan and Chives

Another good recipe using fresh corn that I found on the Weekly Greens blog.   I served this as a side dish.  I cut the recipe in half and it made four pancakes.  I didn’t have whole wheat flour so I used regular white flour.  I also didn’t have buttermilk so I made my own – next time I would probably just use regular milk though.

Recipe from Weekly Greens blog: http://www.weeklygreens.com/recipes/fresh-corn-cakes-with-parmesan-and-chives/, adapted from The Essential New York Times Cookbook

Ingredients:

 2 cups corn kernels (about 4 ears) *this can vary depending on the corn, I needed 4 ears for 1 cup 
1 large egg
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 cup yellow corn meal
1/4 cup buttermilk
1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh chives, plus more for serving
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
4 teaspoons canola oil, divided
Creme fraiche, for serving

Directions:

In a large bowl, combine the corn kernels, egg, flour, cheese, corn meal, buttermilk, chives, salt and pepper. Mix until evenly moistened.

Heat 2 teaspoons of the canola oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add about 1/4 cup of the batter to the hot skillet, pressing it lightly to create a round pancake. You may have to push loose kernels in around the edges. Cook for 3 to 4 minutes, or until you can easily slide a spatula underneath the pancake without it starting to come apart. Carefully flip the pancake and cook the other side until golden and firm, about another 3 to 4 minutes. The cakes should be lightly browned on each side and hold together neatly. Remove the cakes from the skillet and add the remaining 2 teaspoons of oil to make the second and final batch.

Serve hot, topped with creme fraiche and chives.

This entry was posted in Side Dish and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment